Worship, Devotion and Prayer

There is no absolutes when it comes to fluid nature of one’s personal relationship with the gods. How one person interacts with one god may often be not only significantly different from the way they interact with another god, but may also differ from situation to situation with that same god. I find that is especially true for anyone who devotes themself to particular deity. 

As a priestess of Apollon I can say that there is no one way I approach him. I do give him teverence in the traditional Hellenic fashion of ritual once or twice a day as a matter of respect. Not only respect to him but respect towards the culture that he manifests through. It also helps that Hellenic ritual is not horribly complicated either! I have done full Relugio worship with the appropriate gestures etc and find Hellenic ritual to be of a very simple format. So much so that after a few times the steps become automatic and fluid. It actually takes more effort for me to recall the order to write them down than it does just do them.

As a priestess I find it appropriate to at least once a day perform a ritual at his shrine, however I do think that the most important points for doubg ritual , if for whatever reason I had decided not to do daily rituals, would be to make the effort to honor him in ritual during festivals of importance by formal ritual, because of the sacredness of the occassion. Being versed in formal ritual is also important if leading public worship. Unlike more intimate ways a devotee or priestess may have of communicating with their deity, for the purpose of doing worship inclusive of others who may not have an intimate relationship with him. It is for this reason I feel it should be, if for no other reason, for me to be sufficiently versed on correct Hellenic, and Roman for they honored him too, rituals. This can be well illustrated by Homer in which Calchus, priest of Apollon needed not any ritual to call upon his god, and yet when th Achaeans remedied the situation he assisted them with giving ritual to Apollon to turn aside his wrath. It seems implied here that full ritual is not necessary for all forms of worship but is necessary on a whole.

And outside of Apollon, for those gods I do not have a personal relationship with, I find it necessary on behalf of myself and my oikos to give prayer and worship for the purpose of kharis through appropriate ritual.

With Apollon, and a couple other gods that are more intimately involved in my life, such as Poseidon, Artemis and Aphrodite,, it is not unusual for me to break out into praise and prayer. To play, laugh and express myself. From Apollon he may communicate at one moment through a poetic verse, the next by the humm of a honeybee or raven’s song, and the next again by the moan of rocks on a mountain or crashing waves, and the play of flames or light through the leaves of a tree. And the ways I express my devotion manifold from planting flowers for him, singing, dancing, painting, sculpting, to writing of him. It is not necessarly my worship of him but it is a vital part of my relationship with him as his priestess.

in short the way prayer and worship manifests is by its nature varying with many factors involved.

Leave a Reply

