brides

I have written before on bridal mysticism as that in which the attraction between the god and the mortal soul results in often times the mortal developing a very strong devotion to the god which occassionaly results in a symbolic marriage. This is not unheard of as we see nuns who are brides of christ, and we see in many cultures instances where a girl or youth, in worship practice and myth, is a bride or bridegroom of some deity. I am not going to go over it all over again, rather I direct my readers to previous posts on this matter. In short bridal mysticism manifests in love for the god within the worshiper beyond all other love in his or her life.

Instead I want to address something here about this due to a conversation I had today from a woman who is under the mistaken impression that a god has a one true mortal wife. This is absurd to say the least. First, the relationship in bridal mysticism, where it might have an element of pleasure and happiness from how our brains receive and interpret what is experienced, the relationships are not formed in the manner in which biological pairs are formed as the gods are not in possession of biological bodies. They are so far beyond what we are as mortals, to say that the gods are chosing singular wives among mortals just makes me laugh. I do have to wonder which of her friends she has selected as *THE mortal wife* of Apollon. That she has claimed such a role for herself as THE mortal wife of Hermes, I am fairly certain that she has chosen someone among her friends or acquaintances to elevate into a similar position. This is the same woman who nearly convinced a nice individual of being the physical incarnation of Hermes. So when I am being told (and using a name that I don’t use commonly which is neither my Hellenic name given to me during my naming ceremony in Hellas, nor my birth name) that Apollon is setting me aside and drawing away from me for the favor of some hypothetic mortal bride….I just started laughing. I went along with listening to her nonscense and playing along for as far as I could tolerate. But such declarations flew in the face of reason and formed off a poor understanding of Hellenic philosophy and Hellenismos in general. And really the way the gods spoke through her was laughable at best with no depth to dialogue (ambiguity is one thing but someone talking on the level of my 11 year old is another), and making claims how they couldn’t know what she didn’t know when in possession of her, and yet claimed knowing things. The whole thing was absurd beyond the tenth level.

There is no one mortal wife of any god, and make any such claim is hubris. Bridal mysticism itself is not a literal marriage in the sense of mortal marriage, and so claiming that someone shares an experience with a god on part with mortal marriage is hubris too. Because it suggests a singular attachment which the gods really do not possess, not with all the loves and spouses that they aquire in myths and over time among their worshipers. Rather instead it is, on the part of the worshiper, a symbol of deep love, respect, and devotion to said god which one might hold for a spouse in that it holds such unshakable and deep bonds for the worshiper, and so forms an important deep bond between the god and worshiper which is a state attainable by everyone who feels such love and attraction. For these reasons there cannot be any one true mortal wife of any god, but rather a multitude as souls reach out in great love towards the gods and connect to the gods that they adore. Not one is elevated above any other, nor should their be jealousy or conflict. The love of the gods are boundless beyond what pale reflections of our mortal relationships can express. Their love is not contained by petty jealousy, nor by vows or social sanction. Therefore, in my opinion, anyone who claims to be “THE wife of such and such god” is very much mistaken and lacks education in the subject or the philosophy of Plato in which he speaks of the relationship between the souls and the god.

The love of the gods is open and available to all, not be delivered forth by the sayso of a mortal to select as she or he likes who is and is not favored among the gods. The love of Apollon is vast as the currents of light which spreads about and around all the world! Hail Apollon, most beloved!

17 thoughts on “brides

  1. I don’t see why anyone would want to be the one mortal spouse of a god. Could you imagine having them focused on you, in their completeness, all of the time? No human could withstand it, and the idea is, as you said, laughable.

    • Thank you! I am so happy you get what I mean! The gods cannot relate to us in the manner of one true spouses..period. And to have a focus in all their completeness, well we remember what happened to Semele in myth when she desired to have Zeus come to her in the manner which he came to the bed of Hera. The whole thing is just beyond absurd.

      • mm, keep in mind though that Semele (now Thyone) was manipulated by Mother Hera.

        loved the article by the way. great insight.
        cheers.

      • yeah in many respects Semele wasn’t a great example, but the main feature of the myth I was using in which mortals cannot handle the complete one on one presence of a god in response to Columbine was the best I could come up with 😉

  2. excellent article. really top shelf stuff.
    this “soul bride of hermes” sounds like a bit of a nutter.
    and it really is blasphemy to declare oneself as such.
    haha, your laughter was well warranted.

  3. “The love of the gods is open and available to all, not be delivered forth by the sayso of a mortal to select as she or he likes who is and is not favored among the gods.” Perfect! One of the most beautiful aspects of the bridal love (madhura bhakti to Hindus) is that there is no privileged hierarchy. It saddens me – for their sake – when people feel that they must be special to a god, in ways that others aren’t.

  4. I remember this women’s mad ramblings in the HPC group on Facebook… Nuttier than a squirrel turd. But I’m not gonna get all fed up over it again, so I’ll just leave it at that. Hope you can calm yourself down as well, she’s not worth getting a hart attack over 😉

  5. I see that person isn’t only giving Cora a difficult time . . . That said, I have to say that, ” Bridal mysticism itself is not a literal marriage in the sense of mortal marriage, and so claiming that someone shares an experience with a god on part with mortal marriage is hubris too.” gives me pause, if only because I find myself incredibly reluctant to decide for the gods what is and is not possible. Do I want Poseidon’s complete and undivided attention focused on me? Um, hell no, I do want to continue to exist after all, and things may be different for beings without fragile physical bodies, but since that’s not me currently, I’m more than okay with how things are. I also acknowledge that I bring to this marriage of mine my human trappings — terminology and understandings that are rooted in my human culture, etc. — that may not translate exactly that way into the more ephemeral realms. But I am deeply, *deeply* reluctant to say that “all godspouse marriages are X or Z, and cannot possibly be H.” What if the model is remarkably like a mortal marriage? What if that’s the way the god in question wants it, at least from the perspective of the mortal spouse? What if that’s what’s necessary, for whatever reason? Are we to deem what is or is not acceptable to the gods, or is it up to the gods themselves? I can’t, as a polytheist whose experiences in life have taught me that the gods are real, discount the fact that they can have their own agendas, their own plans, and their own preferences — and can make these things known. It’s unfortunate that some people do come across as though they’re doing nothing more than role-playing, but even when faced with that, I cannot bring myself to say, “everything must be this way and cannot be this way,” about such things.

    I get what you’re saying, and I even largely agree to some extent, but I’ve seen too much wretchedness caused by people telling others how and what their relationship can and cannot be, and their believing them, rather than trusting their gods to lead them, to be comfortable with broad statements by others who are not a part of that relationship.

    Happily, some folks are obligingly helpful when it comes to having to decide if they’re legitimate or totally off their rocker.

    • Thank you, Naiadis, for articulating what was bothering me about this post. I agree with Lykeia, that anyone who thinks they are the sole wife of a God or Goddess is mistaken, and that if they got what they asked for, they’d be sorry, but I am very discomfited by the notion of laughing at someone who is enduring possible mental or emotional issues.

      • I wasn’t laughing at her exactly but laughing at the idea that these were supposed to be the gods speaking to me. Her delusions and sickness aren’t a laughing matter, but that this was supposed to be a believable and convincing performance…and that I was expected to buy into it…that was. And, as horrible as this may sound, I have less sympathy for someone who repeatedly tries to force her own delusions on others consistantly. I was sympathetic and kind to her until I reached the end of my rope when she said those things to me.

    • You make a valid point, and really I do think that women (and men) can feel a certain obligation or necessity on their part to approach their divine marriages on the same model as a mortal marriage. I am not disputing that. I am just highly, and extremly skeptical about claims to where the person is claiming to be the god’s one and only bride. Considering how many brides are out there I cannot say that this is even remotely realistic. None of us can know what agenda the gods have or how the gods feel on their end of things, but the fact that there are so many brides out there make me call bullshit on the idea of one true mortal bride nonscense. When I say then it is not like a literal mortal marriage, I am meaning specifically that it is not a monogamous relationship between two individuals…this flies in the face of reason as I have stated above. We can have a multitude of experience on our own ends, but that is about the sum of what any of us really know…and I really do feel that a person claiming that one is the sole one true mortal bride of a god, and then compounding it by trying to force this on others, is doing so because they want to be “special” and cannot content themselves with the idea that they are one among many.

      • See (and I’m not trying to argue with you to change your mind, because again, I understand where you’re coming from and I don’t even really disagree with the spirit of your opinion — plus, you know, I haven’t had to deal with this person in particular, so there’s no emotional or experiential component to this for me) I don’t even really care if people decide that they’re the one and only wife or spouse of a particular deity . . . but, you know, you need filters. I’ve got some weird wacky-do UPG about my own path, but I certainly don’t expect people to believe it, and as such, I don’t talk about it. It’s when they set themselves up as the “only way to that god” that I get irked, because it falls too close to the “you must be a king for the gods to be interested in you” bias that’s so rampant in heathenry. (Or was when I was involved with heathenry socially). Every single god spouse and devotee to a god is special . . . and in our specialness, we are incredibly common. I like to say that of course we’re special, but that doesn’t make us special.

        It will forever come back to one’s deeds, and that’s what I use to base my opinions on about a person. And, her actions have not been favorable at all. No argument there.

      • And on that matter I can certainly agree! There are things about my relationship with Apollon that I don’t discuss because it is not pertinent to anyone but me, and so that you keep things that are unique to you relationship with Poseidon to yourself I respect and understand entirely 🙂

  6. Pingback: Vows | Beloved in Light

Leave a Reply

