Going home

Sometimes fate has a way of just sending you back home, and so it appears I too will be going home, back to Alaska. It will be strange to be spending my ritual to welcome the return of my lord Apollon not in sunshine and splendor, but among the cold snows and the slow budding of life. But perhaps this is the root of my relationship with Apollon, that which truly manifested in the place of my birth. Not sunny tropics, but the place where ancient ice, such a marvelous prismatic substance, still groans across the earth. And where the year is truly divided in this extreme climate as the return of spring is greeted as a return of light and hope. There is little blooming this time of the year, aside from some tight brown buds on the trees or perhaps some pussy willows which are the sign of spring in that far northern land, but the return of the light is a promise.

There are no soft beaches, but rather hard stone in a land laden with mineral wealth, and the unending sun across the days and nights of summer. Never did you see a such a sight if you have not seen it with your own eyes! To see the midnight sun. But even in winter there are his glories, for no where else is the moon and stars so bright, or so clearly seen the aurora borealis which I call his heavenly dance. In the darkest and longest nights you can truly get an appreciation for and be able to see his manifestation in all forms of light as his northernly torch casts its rays everywhere. A place where a multitude of black ravens play their games with the sun, and bald eagles lift up on broad wings. A place where falcons dart and hawks soar, and moose rattle their horns, and where the plenitude of fish are snared from the sea. And the return of the trumpeter swans every April, what a sight that is! To see their white wings and hear their enchanting calls, as they travel to their nesting grounds. Even in its extremes there is magic there, and beauty.

It is a land where Poseidon rules, the cherished seas with their dangerous rolling waves, and insane men who tempt them in order to bring in the catches of fish and crabs that dwell within them. Where the earth frequently shakes. And throughout the summer Demeter’s glory reaches rapidly for the sun, that even as brief as our growing season is, the plenitude of sunlight brings grains and vegetables, and many kinds of fruits, to their ripeness. And then there are the mountains, the tall peaks upon which in my youth I imagined Zeus reclining upon, and Artemis leaping down their heights through the rugged terrain. Artemis’ land surely it is, for this Last Frontier. Few places on earth are as wild, and the forests creep into the city’s edge. And I can’t see this changing anytime soon due to Alaska’s nature. The long dark winters and extremely cold temperatures are alone enough to turn most reasonable folk away. But it is a beautiful place, and the first place I connected to on a spiritual level.

So I am going home, to great the old mountain Denali, and the mountain Sleeping Lady. To say hello again to the marshes and inlets. I will miss the sunny warmth of the south, and part of me is sad for leaving, but another part of me rises from the depth of my chest and radiates sheer pleasure. This Alaskan girl is going home…..to stay.

6 thoughts on “Going home

  1. It has got to be amazing to live in such a . . . I want to say primal place, but I’m not sure if that’s what I mean. I’m sorry the moving to FL didn’t work out, but I’m glad you have this back-up plan. Alaska has been a place I’ve wanted to visit since before I knew that I actually *could*. Some day in the next few years I’m gonna have to drag Beth up there with me. Erm. Probably during the summer . . .

    • LOL yeah I definently recommend the summer 🙂 I will be in Anchorage so if you make it up there look me up and I will play hostess and guide 😉 The summers are pleasant..it typically stays under 85 degrees with cool winds…ALOT of sunlight though which some people say makes it strange when trying to sleep hehe!

      • See, the ‘a lot of sunlight’ is going to be rough for me in the summer time. We get more sun here in Eugene than what I was used to back in New England, even, in the summer, and until I figured out why my sleeping was not working it was miserable. Still, better cranky sleepless Jo than a frozen, circulation-issues Beth, I say!

        I have to say, too, that I’m impressed with your ability to keep posting and writing while everything was in upheaval. Once upon a time, writing was the only thing that kept me sane. Nowadays it’s the first thing to go when I’m faced with crises.

      • Writing is a nice distraction to be certain, but also helps me to focus on my thoughts rather than worrying about some comforts or stressing over some thing or another. So thank you 🙂
        As for the long hours of day light….well I think you would probably have some trouble adjusting to the long hours of sun here lol. Of course after the long dark winters residents are always happy for the longer daylight hours too 😀

  2. Whoa! Talk about a change. Why the sudden shift, if it’s not too personal. I’ve never been to Alaska, but I did date a guy from there who had nothing but good things to say about the place. Funnily enough, I’ll probably be begging to come visit soon enough. Alaskan wilderness is supposedly like nothing else on the continent.

    • You are more than welcome to visit! And in fact once I get settled and things are going better I would be happy to play the hostess and tour guide 😉
      It is a great place, if a bit cold right now lol.
      The decision came because I was unable to make ends meet or find work. So the idea was to come back and get my old job back. To my surprise a lot of my old co-workers were quite happy to see me 🙂 I have my interview today.

Leave a Reply

