the bright dagger

Some time ago I had spoken of the fact that I have a lovely curved dagger that I had brought back over the seas that I have recently been keeping at the shrine of Aphrodite. I felt it was appropriate since the dagger was bought in a celebration of love that it be kept at the shrine of the goddess of love. It never ocurred to me that it would be better placed at the shrine of that god which I love (which makes more sense in retrospect). The dagger is inlaid with white and gold colored metals along the sheith, and the darkly stained wooden hilt is setwith a disc, which seems to me as the sun, of gold-colored metal, the center of which is etched to resembled a fully bloomed flower.

My inclination to set it at the shrine of Aphrodite I reasoned that not only is the goddess that who rules love, but also the duality in the beauty and lethality of the curved dagger itself. Yet last night when I was in one of my more quiet moments I had a flash of inspiration that while the dagger was fine housed at the shrine it’s meaning belonged to my worship of Apollon. This inspiration was in the form of a mental image of me performing dance for Apollon with this dagger. Therefore with prayers of thanks for the blessings of Aphrodite, I will be moving the dagger to the shrine of Apollon where I will use it in activities of dance involved in my worship.

And because all is fair is strange occurances, it turns out that the small square drum (painted with a flower) that I had bought on my second trip to use in my worship of Apollon, is actually for Hera. So not all best laid plans end up working out the way we initially think 😉

4 thoughts on “the bright dagger

  1. I love this. Recently I was torn on sort of a similar issue, and it’s nice to see your solution and realize it’s not all that uncommon or problematic. I’d made a set of prayer beads inspired by Persephone which were never used because apart from praying to all the gods I don’t really have time or space set apart for her specifically, and have never felt called to do so. One day while I was praying to Apollon, it suddenly hit me that it’s Persephone’s story that inspires me more than the goddess herself, and that I saw it as a metaphor for following after a god. I moved the beads to my shrine for Apollon, and since then I have used the beads several times.

    • To me things like this show the interconnective relationship of the gods, and how the worship of others gods benefit our relationship with a god we follow.
      There are no compartmental boxes or invisible lines in drawn. Most gods shared many crossover aspects of worship.
      There is certainly a relationship between a goddess who crosses the liminal boundaries, and a god who presides at the boundary too.
      For my case Aphrodite and Apollon have alot of crossover points…1) Apollon at one time wanted to marry Aphrodite (though really who didn’t?), and 2) there is a close association between the two particularly at Delos where the statue of Aphrodite made by Daedulus was, according to legend, dedicated to Apollon by Theseus on his return to Athens when he stopped at Delos. Even the crane dance was used in celebration of both Apollon and Aphrodite on the island.

      So I don’t let it worry me too much 🙂

      • I hadn’t heard or read the bit about the statue of Aphrodite being dedicated to Apollon. Very interesting! Thanks for sharing that.

      • You’re welcome 🙂 I believe that I read it in Plutarch’s biography on the life of Theseus. Apparently the statue had been made for Ariadne who gave it to Theseus. When Ariadne was accidently abandoned on Naxos Theseus still had the statue which he gifted to the god…Apollon having adviced him to follow love in order to succeed.

Leave a Reply

