shrines in multiplicity

Over time it has occurred to me that there are occassions when one shrine just doesn’t do it. For several gods in my household one shrine works well enough (for example Hestia, Aphrodite, Athena and Artemis…they all each have one shrine) but at other times multiple shrines seem to be called for in order to call on different focuses. So there are two for Zeus at this point (one for Zeus who rules over the center of the household, and another for Zeus Kteosis), and a third planned for Zeus and Hera together. Meanwhile Hermes has his Herm at the front door and an independent shrine, and Apollon has several started seeing as how he is the god I particularly follow. There is his space at the front door as Apollon Agyieus, there is something set up for prayers before bed and in the morning near by bedside with Artemis, there is another I am developing for Apollon of the axis which honors many points that are associated with this including Apollon’s position at Delphi (the navel, or “center point” of the world) at which I plan on having statues of Apollon and Dionysos set up. This may also be where I will keep my personal tools of divination that I use very occassionally as the mood strikes to look into my imagination and see what inspiration speaks there. I also want to do a shrine to Apollon, Asklepios and Hygeia, and another for Apollon, Aphrodite, Hephaistos and Athena as an artist. And then of course there would be my more generic one. Similarly there are multiple shrines I would like to establish for Hera. I have one set up already for Aphrodite, Hera and Eros together as a combined force ruling over the domestic peace and love of the family and its strength. This shrine sits adjacent to that of Zeus who dwells at the center of the household. It may seem a little odd but I think that this can be a nice compartmental practice in which specific shrines for specific things can be utilized for regular focuses of the household as permanent fixtures rather than constantly having to put together something specific and moving things around. Putting together a temporary small makeshift altar is wonderful for something occassional but if it is something that you will be doing on a fairly regular basis it makes more sense to keep something set up. These various outlet shrines don’t have be large or fancy either. Many of my extra function specific shrines tend to be smaller, just a little something on a shelf and may consist of little more than a picture and a candle. Others a bigger and more thought out depending on how they are used and what all is being incorporated into them. Of course there is nothing say that a shrine won’t grow or shrink over time depending on its place in your regular household worship. With this in mind it seems less important to try to get *everything* symbolic onto one space when it works just as well to have different spaces devoted to you different relationships with a given deity and how the gods interact for the benefit of the oikos (the home) and the people dwelling within.

3 thoughts on “shrines in multiplicity

  1. I’m still working my way through that article on Zeus but from what I read, the cult practices of Zeus Ktesios and many other Zeus epithets that relate to the household are so similar to be practically the same, which means you could condense your Zeus altars into one with no issue. When I finally finish this article, I have A LOT to share. I will just need to figure out how to blog it in digestible portions.

    • I look forwarding to reading it! The main reason I keep them seperate is because the shrine for Zeus Ktesios is more or less in the kitchen near the pantry (I was keeping it on a shelf in the pantry when I had a larger space). The other I maintain in the living room–the center of my home.

  2. I look forwarding to reading it! The main reason I keep them seperate is because the shrine for Zeus Ktesios is more or less in the kitchen near the pantry (I was keeping it on a shelf in the pantry when I had a larger space). The other I maintain in the living room–the center of my home 🙂

Leave a Reply

