implimenting vocal sounds in worship

I must acknowledge that there are accomplished singers and musicians among us, but let it be said here and publically I am not one of them. I pick up quickly on performing music (such as learning how to play the violin) but I am far from a great singer…though I won’t say a half dead raven either. And despite a flair for impromptu poetry I am not accomplished at all at creating lyrics when I am focusing on musical vocalizations (ie singing). Therefore I have found it largely preferable to either humm softly (which I tend to lapse into even when I am not aware much to my frequent embarassment) or if ritually singing to focus on the vocalized notes rather than the lyrics; wherefore there are no meaningful words but each tone contains some sort of mental and emotional meaning to me and often imprints of a vibrant mental illusion..a color so to speak, a texture. That said I often get more out of this, usually in the form of general vowel type sounds or nonscence combinations of sounds which isn’t really a language but rather a flow of rhythm and tone. As our voice is perhaps out greatest musical instrument given to us from the gods I want to advocate its use even if you are not the best of singers. It doesn’t require particular talent but a pure attention on sound in a simple or complex form as you desire. We can all bring a bit of personal music to a ritual, or prayer, in this fashion.

Leave a Reply

