altar statues

I have come to the conclusion that if I want statues of all 12 Olympians to fit on my domestic altar I am going to have to get some small ones…or make some small ones (which I would honestly prefer to carve rather than sculpt with clay because I feel I have more control in carving wood and it was my first artistic skill as a kid next to learning how to paint heh). The larger statues are wonderful and I will probably get more in the future, but when it comes right down to it for the domestic altar there is just not enough room for large statues! Meanwhile the larger statues are wonderful to evoke the presence of the gods in various parts of the house. For example the statue of Hestia is going to keep her royal seat in the living room. There is a reason why I set her statue in the living room versus the kitchen and that is because the family as a whole spends very little time together in the kitchen. Even growing up the living room has been the center of the family. If I had a hearth it would be in the living room naturally too which is where it was traditionally placed. That I don’ thave a fireplace doesn’t make the importance of the central living room any less. Hestia is at the heart of the household so it is best served to not move her from there regardless of where the cooking is done in my home 🙂 Aphrodite in all her glory is also in the living room complete with tea set nearby as I have developed a connection between evening tea (or coffee) and the evening gathering of family as an expression of familial love and bonds. And likewise Apollon and Artemis have a fairly significant shrine in my private space where I give morning and evening prayers.

But as for the altar I shall either find or make small images of the gods to be placed there, each made unique to how I envision the gods. Hera with sceptre and pomegranate, Demeter with the wheat-ears, Artemis with torch and bow, Apollon with torch and bow, Aphrodite with dove and apple and so forth. They shall be made in a simple form (limbs close to the body) to make them more durable so that I don’t have to worry about anything breaking off. And instead of painting them i am thinking to gold leaf them. I will do a practice image first though to make sure no details get lost with the gold leafing though.

I *may* decide to make molds of them before gold leafing them (if nothing else but to have a mold to make a back up if disaster strikes), but I haven’t determined one way or another yet on this issue since I don’t have alot of experience with mold making. But the main purpose of this post was just to say that the bigger statues while beautiful, and having a unique place in the home, just don’t realistically work on a family altar unless you plan on representing just a few gods there, which is something I would not do.

2 thoughts on “altar statues

  1. That is a good idea 🙂 What I have been leaning towards is getting marbelex. It is airdry (which is a sad necessity since I don’ t have access to a kiln) but it is perfect proportioned in a way that I can split one block into two even blocks. So six blocks can yeild roughly similar sized statues. With a small block I can just carve directly into the clay rather than building up which will save me alot of a headache. Then I just need to get an ultra fine grain buffer that won’t leave scratches on the clay but will rather smooth and polish 🙂

Leave a Reply

