So it looks like an altar for Apollon

Goods news is that I get to set up a public altar for Apollon, though granted only for a day, but still I managed to squeak in and get a space for the “semi-” local Pagan Pride Day. I usually don’t identify with the word pagan but I get the overall intention of the celebration, and considering the wide ranges of groups who will be there I won’t exactly be the only traditional polytheist there either πŸ™‚ And that is a bit of a relief. So it is in a rather happy spirit that I am getting ready for by Altar for Apollon later this month. It is just unfortunate that I didn’t jump on board earlier so I could have had some Apollon-inspired crafts etc (particularly I wanted to do some sort of mask-making activity in which people can stare fear dead on…represent that which they are afraid of in honor of Apollon Boedromios whose festival Boedromia mythically marks Theseus’ sacrifice to Apollon and the issuance of fear (not unlike the representation in Homer’s poetic work the Iliad where Apollon is the bringer of fear as he weilded the aegis on the part of the Trojans) ) But next year, next year my dears. I will plan better get some things worked out firmly early enough! So this year it is just the altar. I should have my bust back by then, the one of Apollon that I bought at Delphi, to be the centerpeice. I wish I had time to make an image of Apollon Boedromios and Apollon Hyperboreos. The only things I have is my main shrine image (which I suppose will work in a generic kindof way) and the image of Apollon Daphnephoros that I am finishing upΒ which seems a little out of season in my opinion. I still need to figure out the details of what exactly I am going to take with me, and how I am going to set it up. I have never done this before but it is an exciting new adventure to be sure! I know I am making a design for a local group of Pan for some prayer cards based off a painting I am doing for them that they may raffle off (at least I believe that is the plan hehe). So whereas I won’t have a painting to raffle off of Apollon I could do the similar idea (it was my idea anyway so why not lol) and offer small prayer cards. I am just not entirely sure how many I will need to print out. I don’t want to run short but on the other hand I would hate to have a surplus to throw away at the end too!

2 thoughts on “So it looks like an altar for Apollon

  1. This is exciting! Beth and I used to be involved with the pagan pride day, when we were in Philly — twice we led one of the few rituals, which was sort of daunting, but hey. The only thing I never really liked about it (well, except for the crowd aspect, but that’s sorta the point and I was pushing my comfort zones, so now I know I *can* do it, even if I don’t like to) was the annoying compartmentalizing that had to be done. I couldn’t go and be heathen *and* Poseidon’s . . . Looking back, in fairness, I likely could have, but it was easier to use the heathen shortthand and not muddle things up.

    I love the setting up of shrines at these events. We never really did that, and I wish we would have, because it’s just pretty awesome. Help the gods be present and all that. Let us know how it goes! πŸ™‚ And, pictures, if you can.

    • Well for me this is my first pagan pride day πŸ™‚ I wanted to do something a bit more involved but I spoke up too late (and that is because I didn’t know whether or not I would have transportation!), but starting out with something as simple as an altar is good place to start and I think is an important component. And mine won’t be the only Hellenic one since there is also going to be one for Pan πŸ™‚ I look forward to doing more next year! I hope that you are able to get back involved in something local there in the future. It sounds like you had alot of fun doing this kind of thing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

