sacred creations

I think that there is a positive move lately towards investing in sacred art, and by this I mean religious arts that have been created by people who actually worship the gods, to have as part of their regular religious activities. Not too long ago it seemed that everyone was buying museum replicas (which are nice, and I own some myself, but I recognize that they are copies and often turned out impersonally in a assembly-line system rather than being crafted by the hands of the artist out of genuine passion for the gods), but anymore I have seen people creating for themselves, or purchasing from people who are doing the creating. I have noticed for example that this year I have sold more paintings of the gods then I did the year before, and have seen a prolific number of images of what others are creating for their own household use. This is wonderful! These are by far more valuable than anything one can purchase at a shop of decorative statuary. Religious icons (for lack of a better word that I can think of at the moment) being crafted by worshipers for worshipers and therefore invested individually with a great deal of meaning.

That there is a certain sacredness to certain forms of art can be assured. Think of for example those girls who labored for quite some time to make Athena’s dress for Panathenaea, full of beautiful mythic images. Or any similar occassions for various deities. I for one would love to be able to do complex weavings for Apollon for Hyakinthia and Karneia (and I plan too which is why I am looking into how to build a simple loom). Nevermind that we are given a level of control of how we want to symbolically represent some mythic elements that are not available in romantic-period arts, or even little known epithets of gods that we favor but are not available. We are given such freedom to create in honor of the gods and for the gods that it gives art a greater and more meaningful purpose…and it is to these ends that I have been focusing much of my attention in doing myvarious paintings, especially my Apollon and Dionysos series of paintings. Art is an expression of reality, of inspiration and of vision. So hail Hephaistos, bringer of form, hail Aphrodite harmonizer of elements, hail Apollon leader of the arts, hail Athena, great crafter! Hail gods who inspire the art and aid us in their creations!

5 thoughts on “sacred creations

  1. For my representation of Poseidon, I’ve got a mass produced statue (minus a few bits that have broken off; pieces are delicate on this thing!) and I’ve had another version of it and a bust replication, too. A few years ago it was made clear that from now on, though, my representations need to be hand-crafted, natural or recycled, and preferably hand crafted by me. I’ve been putting it off, I *like* the pretty, and *I* can’t do pretty justice, and I do quite love the statue I’ve got (even with its missing bits). This was, heh, actually, a nicely timed poke that, no really, I was supposed to do something about that a bit ago . . .

    We have in our city a textile center that rents time out on their looms. it’s a shame you don’t have something like that near you. I’m learning to spin, and I keep getting drawn toward the looms, and I *gasp* may actually wind up taking a class one day, before I decide to buy one. (I want to make my own towels! And rugs! And clothing! And and and!)

    • Well there is certainly no reason to not keep the statues you have even when you make a central image of your worship 🙂 What you make doesn’t have to be “pretty” to be meaningful, if you look at some examples of statuary that was used in domestic cultus versus those images that were created by great sculptors for temples etc. Many of the regular images appear a bit simple in form. I made my own statue of Hera, and it may not be the most gorgeous thing in the world but it is meaningful to me and it is not a disaster either 😉 I am doing primary images for all the gods to be the actual domestic statues whereas the statues I have are extra pretties, the only exception may be the bust of Apollon I have and that is only because it is special since I got it from Delphi. I am sure whatever you create for Poseidon will be perfect because it will embody those things which are important to your relationship with him!

      Unfortunately I live in a very small town so I don’t have the kind of resource that you have for renting looms, but I would love to learn to spin too since that is a rather important part of weaving too! I am jealous you have access to these resources! Who knows though, maybe we will both be working on weaving in time! 🙂

      • The textile center here is pretty amazing. Not that spinning on a hand spindle can produce anything near the amount that you would need for weaving (unless, apparently, you were raised in the Andes, where they spin weaving thread on hand spindles oh my goodness I can’t even imagine) but, have you tried hand spinning? We have a wheel that we just bought, and it’s mostly Beth’s (though I can fix her! Even if I haven’t spun with her yet!) and that’s pretty awesome for production, but, spindle spinning is fun. (Says she who hasn’t even spun a skein’s worth yet). I’m coveting a Navajo supported spindle, currently.

      • No I have’t had the oppertunity to spin yet, but sounds like fun (but then I am the person who actually enjoys unwraveling yarn to twist back into a nice little ball so I am may be a bit weird lol)! I have always wanted to try out a spinning wheel, I can imagine that reduces the work load a great deal while still having in something worth while…of course I have also always wanted to card wool too…umm I did say I was a little odd right? lol
        It is probably a good thing that I am not wealthy or else I would probably have goats and sheep in the backyard, and so many craft things that you could walk without tripping 😉 It is bad enough that my father trips over my easel everytime he walks into the living room LOL

      • Beth and I joke that we’ll end up not with furniture in our living room but rather work stations: spinning wheels, a heddle loom, a writing nook. It’s likely to be true; it’s already started!

        Hand spindles are cheaper and small for storage and are thus a neat thing to use to (heh) get a feel for spinning. The writer of “Respect the Spindle” learned to spin at a very young age and talks a bit about growing up in the . . . Peruvian? Chilean? . . . andes, and they were spinning weaving thread. On hand spindles. Which just *hurts* my head . . .

Leave a Reply

