more on Apollon and word and Delphi

I have been continuing reading my collection of Lives by Plutarch. In the section of Solon, Plutarch discusses how Solon made his laws, and those that swore on oath to the laws ( a council of a kind that I cannot offhand recall the name of) on the penality of my breaking their oath that they would dedicate a gold statue as big of themselves to Delphi.

To me this implies something quite profound and that is the seriousness of our words, and that they cannot just be taken lightly to keep or break as we see fit. I think that this goes beyond laws, though agreeing to follow certain rules is certainly important since you are by your word committing your actions. I think this gives Apollon some presiding over law certainly, but not so much for its legalistic value, than its language. It is the implimentation of word for the right (in most cases, though I can say that there is a history of injust laws even within this country USA, much less the world). It is the strength and power of word and language that binds us together socially.

That said, I do not think that we can take anything we say lightly. By lying and breaking our verbal commitments we dishonor the power of word and its use in our world and social unity. We undercut the value. We can use witt and jest certainly, for these words convey a certain social bond between individuals. But I think that those are words in a very specific value set, since thier intention is obvious by tone and use of language. It can also be effectively used in order to establish discipline as any parent, or educator, is aware. But in our general communication and that which is connected to our activity within the world we must take serious consideration of what we say, when we say it, and how we are using it. For this we must actively take into account the situation, and the message we wish to convey, and what importance it should carry or can carry.

Even the oracle of Delphi I would wager to say is more based on the power of word than anything else. I wouldn’t even say it is all that connected to divination, for there is no specific action of forecasting that we recognizing in connection with divination. Instead the Pythia is connected to the god and relating the Word of the god. That is to say, that Apollon is not forecasting events to come, but rather he, through his oracle, making pronouncments of what is. I strongly believe that the gods exist for the most part outside of our concepts of time. That is to say that they are both apart of it but not so strongly influenced by it as we mortals are, therefore he is not so much forecasting into the immediate future but is rather apart of it, and commenting on what is in response to the question. The right word of the god is seperateless from being.

This makes our awareness of language all the more necessary, because language as we use it reflects being, and to make a mockery of the power of language and to dishonor it, we are dishonoring Apollon and Athena who govern, utilize and organize language. That said I take very seriously my words. I do not lie, I do not use my words to manipulate. I consider my words to have value and therefore treat them as such. And as a poet, words have an even more intimate meaning to me since they convey more that the simple outward appearance. Words have undermeanings and subtility and languages of their own. And as children of the gods we are to be responsible for how we use this gift.

Leave a Reply

